A segment one course consists of 24 hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction, and 4 hours of observation.
Segment two is a three day course. 2 hours each day for a total of 6 hours of classroom instruction.
For adults who where not able to get their driver's license as a teenager, we offer adult private driving lesson to help prepare...
SEGMENT 1 Details
In Michigan, a teen must be at least 14 years and 8 months old to begin Segment 1 of the G.D.L program. Graduated Driver Licensing consists of two segments of driver education classes and three licensing levels. Segment 1 includes 24 hours of classroom instructions; a minimum of 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instructions; and a minimum of 4 hours of observation time as a passenger in the training vehicle.
SEGMENT 2 Details
Segment 2 includes a minimum of 6 hours of classroom instructions. For you teen to participate in SEGMENT 2 DRIVER EDUCATION COURSE, a supervised driving log must be presented to the Segment 2 instructor verifying at least 30 hours (including 2 hours of nighttime driving) were completed with a licensed parent, legal guardian, or designated licensed driver 21 years of age of older. They have had to held their level 1 license permit for at least 90 days before they can attend Segment 2.
ALL OF OUR CLASSES ARE IN PERSON.
TO ENROLL IN A SEGMENT 1 OR 2 CLASS PLEASE CLICK ON THE ORANGE BUTTON.
FOR ADULT DRIVING LESSONS PAYMENT MUST BE MADE PRIOR TO SCHEDULING.
PLEASE FILL OUT OR FORM HERE TO ENROLL IN ADULT DRIVING LESSONS.
EMAIL US AT email@example.com FOR ANY OTHER QUESTIONS OR CONCERNS.
SOME INFORMATION FROM SECRETARY OF STATE
Governor Gretchen Whitmer recently signed PA 374 of 2020 into law. As a result, listed below are the temporary changes to driver skills testing procedures.
Vehicle registrations which expired on or after March 1, 2020 are valid until March 31, 2021.
Temporary Instruction Permits (TIP), operator, chauffeur or motorcycle, which expired on or after March 1, 2020 are valid until March 31, 2021.
A Commercial Learner's Permit (CLP) that expired on or after March 1, 2020 is valid until March 31, 2021.
$0.01 road test receipts were not extended; driving skills tests may not be administered to test applicants with expired road test receipts.
Original operator's license with designated Level 1 graduated licensing provision that expired on or after March 1, 2020 are valid until March 31, 2021 and may be used for an automobile skills test if the applicant has satisfied the other requirements associated with the GDL program- e.g. completed segment 2 and a driving log.
An individual with an expired level 1 license that has not completed segment 2 may not use a level 1 license to test. This individual must obtain a TIP before being eligible to skills test.
Driver Education & Testing Section
Michigan Department of State